Slutet – Slutet

So originally I was going to open this review up for  a joke saying that the band’s name sounded like an 1890’s brothel term. I can’t do that however, because this album goes beyond jokes. Not in the “wow this is such an amazing album” way, but in the “what the fuck did I just listen to” way. When I got this it was tagged as experimental black metal, which I figured “ok, I’ll get to review something a bit out of the ordinary. Who knows, maybe I’ll discover a cool band no one knows about”. What I didn’t think it would be, was basically an underground cult’s manifesto of some sort

The album opens up with samples of the 9/11 attack news coverage, segueing int this sort of black rock or sorts? Like it’s not black metal, but it kinda sounds enough like black metal while still being rock, to the point where I can’t even describe what genre it is. The “singer” sounds like a side character nigga from Rocky Horror Picture Show trying to do black metal vocals, while simultaneously giving a schizophrenic sermon on the street of a major city about how the world will end. Fitting, because the commune this band formed is called “The End Commune”. The tracks goes on like this for 10 minutes before ending with a sample of a jihadist yelling “Allahur Ackbar” and blowing himself up. It gets weirder from there.

Track 2, Raped Beauty Sleep, continues in the same style as track 1, while managing to get even creepier with some more whispered vocals. Track 3 is a pretty nice filler black rock (I don’t really know how else to describe it) track, but the real shit comes in track 4. This is a 22 minute dirge that starts off with some cool dark jazz elements with guitars playing one riff in the background. And throughout the entire song that riff just keeps growing with intensity. Towards the end you have this riffs growing and growing with “samples” of women being tortured in the background. I put that in quotes because they sure don’t sound like they’re from a movie or something. At one point one of the women cries out in her loudest voice possible “I. AM. A. HUMAN. BEING!”. And fuck me if I didn’t get chills for all the wrong reasons.

I’ll admit it, I’m a total pussy. I hate horror movies, and always get freaked out at stupid stuff like jump scares. I remember when I was a teenager I would go on 4chan’s /x/ board (this was around 2010, when there was actually some scary shit there), which if you don’t know is the paranormal board on the site. I’d go there for an hour late at night and go to bed with my head under the covers scared as shit. I would watch those “hidden footage” Japanese ghost captures and I would never be able to finish them because I would get freaked so hard. I still do that shit. I listen to stuff like black metal because in my head I know it’s all fake. I mean sure, some of those artists do believe what they’re saying, and sure, a very select few actually do some fucked up shit. But even then, I can remain blissfully unaware and pretend it’s all fairy tales. This shit I’m not so sure I can do that. You may ask “how do you know it’s not fake”? Well, technically I don’t, but I found their blogspot (http://theendcommune.blogspot.com/ NSFW) and…. yeah. This shit reads like something made by true loonies. Apparently this guys have a reputation for being fucked up, and their music sure serves that well. When those women are screaming, I genuinely think there’s a chance, even for only a second, that those might actually have been recordings of women they dragged into their chamber and did shit with.

I’m going to do something I’ve never done before, which is give something a full review, but not rate it. I feel like the music here isn’t the point. No numerical score would justify what’s in this record. If this is all fake, if this is all for show, if those samples are just from a movie, and if all of what I’m hearing is part of an act, then congratulations, you fucking got me. I’m spooked.


Unrated

FYI, I putting the recommended tag on this despite not giving it a 7, simply because this is interesting enough as a possible look at the fucked up underground of civilized society, and to me, that’s enough to give it the tag.

Leave a Reply

