Mourning Beloveth – Rust & Bone ALBUM REVIEW

Funny story, the only album I had previously listened to of this band was their debut, which, not knowing anything about death doom metal, I thought was boring and snooze worthy, being way too slow and samey. Fast forward a few years and funeral doom is my favorite metal genre. Funny how things change.

Anyway, Rust&Bone is a nice album, but I really feel like Mourning is trying way too damn hard to make the listener feel sad. Certain elements are really nice, like the doomy acoustic bits, and the fantastically beautiful choir that backdrops the music on occasion. However I really feel like this is too tonal and obvious for me to really enjoy fully. I kinda have this thing where if death doom / funeral doom has too much tone and melody to it, I tend to lose interest. I’m the kinda guy who loves shit like Mordor, and Esoteric’s early work, melody doesn’t really affect me as much. Personal taste aside, I do feel like Rust rides along the line of a bit too much cheese pretty tightly, crossing over into the danger zone a few times too many.

There’s also the aspect of time. The album clocks in at 37 minutes, and with only 3 of the 5 tracks having meaningful length (the others being interludes), it feels like as soon as the album arrives, it disappears, without really leaving a trace of its presence, or any impact on the listener. I feel like one more track would’ve made much more of an impression on me, which is weird to say, as I normally prefer albums to be on the short side.

Negative criticism aside, this is a very decent work. I feel like Rust & Bone is at its best when it steps away from traditional death doom, and goes the more melancholy, acoustic rout with clean vocals. The interludes are absolutely fantastic, and I loved the intro to the album, but I feel like the meat and potatoes of the album just tires too hard for my liking. That being said, I can see why many other persons would love this, so I still fully recommend this album to anyone looking for some high quality sad thoughts time.


7/10

Leave a Reply

