Oblivionized – Life Is a Struggle, Give Up ALBUM REVIEW


There are certain genres of music out there that I honestly, can’t tell how good a work from them is. Dark Ambient is a good example. I love dark ambient, and it’s probably one of my most listened to genres outside of metal. By now I know what bad dark ambient sounds like, and I know what below average to average sounds like. And I know what godly dark ambient sounds like. But anything from 6-9 is kind of a wash for me. It really just comes down to whatever mood I’m in at that moment. And this sucks because I’m the kind of asshole who tries to think of logical reasons why they like something, and come up with ratings based on those reasons. This is opposed to the common practice of “I like it, 10/10”. Life is a Struggle is certainly an album I like. It feels like the congregation of all of life’s struggle and pains into one album that’ll make you hate yourself and your life after one listen. Tracks like I Pity You are the kind that any depressed person could hear and think “Gee, suicide really does sound nice right now”. Mostly this is a result of the lyrics, as grindcore musicianship isn’t typically too stellar. The problem is, going back to what I was talking about before, grindcore is one of those genres that i can’t really differentiate between pretty good and great. So while yes, I like this album, I have a hard time giving it a score. Part of this is just inexperience with genre, the other part is… no yeah, it’s just inexperience with the genre. So I’m going to be a hypocrite and give this a high score because of like it. Because fuck having consistent standards.


8.5/10

Leave a Reply

