Monolord – Vænir ALBUM REVIEW

From the moment I heard this first line of this album, I knew it was amazing. For background, my favorite band is Electric Wizard. It’s why I tend to love stuff like Stereolithic Riffacalypse. Stoner doom is my favorite genre of metal, and even though I tend to like it more, I tend to also scrutinize it more. It has to meet a higher standard with me. So keep that in mind when I say this, and what I’m about to say hurts me, but at the same time, I can’t hold back from the truth: this is better than Electric Wizard. In every way. It’s dirtier, it has more psychedelic influences, it has more prog influences, the vocals are better, the riffs are better, everything is better. However initially, through the first two tracks, I could really only give it about a 9.5/10. Something was missing. Yeah, it was the album I’ve been looking for for years, but at the same time, it’s something I’d heard before, at least somewhat. Then it happened. About midway through the third track “Nuclear Death”, the riff happened. THE riff. I’m gonna call it the God Riff. Every strum of the downtuned guitars rocked my entire world for about 2 minutes. It was a semi, no it WAS a religious experience in music. That’s when I knew this was it. This wasn’t just any old album, this was possible the greatest album I’ve ever heard. And that wasn’t even the best part of the album. It can’t be, right? It’s only the third track. So the rest of the album was going solid when the title track came up, which I had previously heard was a great track. Oh yeah. Oh yeah it was. You know that God Riff I mentioned a few sentences back? Stretch that out 16 minutes.

This is a modern masterpiece. I was expecting a lot when I listened to this, and it exceeded my expectations in every way.

EDIT: Well it only took about a month but this is dethroned. Still fantastic however, please listen to this.


9.5/10

Leave a Reply

