He Whose Ox Is Gored – The Camel, the Lion, the Child ALBUM REVIEW


This is an example of a perfectly fine album that does all the things right, even has some experimentation aspects into it, but doesn’t cut it because it doesn’t have that “wow” factor. “The Camel, the Lion, the Child”  is quite an accessible album, despite having a name that sounds like the sad mix of an early 2010s metalcore and an unknown european 1970s prog rock album. It has some of the best riff work this year, with everything being simple enough to be catchy, but complex enough to remain interesting. Quite a while after I listened to this I still had some of them blasting in my head. Or they would be blasting if this album was particularly harsh. This is definitely on the quieter side of sludge metal. It still has enough of an edge to keep you focused, but it’s definitely subdued compared to other records.

I really like the sense of progression in the album. The ambient bits are very well done for how little they appear, and I actually love the acoustic guitar interwoven on these quiet sections. Gives the listener a nice break. The synths are also actually quite good, despite being fairly obvious. I see them as more white noise in this album. Filling in the blanks in between the guitars and the drums. I tried to imagine how it’d hear with just the physical instruments, and I think it would be extremely empty.

The issue I have with this album is again, that there’s really nothing that overally excites me when I listen to this.. There’s nothing that blows you away, or makes you think it’s anything more than just pretty good prog sludge. It’s extremely catchy, complex enough to keep me interested, and has excellent riffs, but at the end of the day, all I can do after listening is muster a theoretical gold clap.


6.75/10

Leave a Reply

