Ethereal Shroud – They Became the Falling Ash

I’m still not entirely sure what I think of this album. Usually when I’m done with an album, I have a pretty solid opinion about it and I know what I’m going to say, but here I’m sort of making it up as I go along. Let’s start with the basis then. This is a really atmospheric black metal album with some funeral elements into it (long, repetitive, march like tracks) that have this “epic” sound to them, mostly done through symphonic and ambient synths. However even though I feel like it’s supposed to be epic, I can’t really feel like I’m going on a journey. It’s more like I’m listening to more epic than usual background music. This is certainly not a bad album, but I can’t help but feel like I’m not getting what I’m supposed to be getting out of this. I feel like I should be in some awe or something, but really I’m just doing other things while the music just flies by like a breeze. Maybe it’s because of the repetitive, slow, slogging nature of the tracks that it feels like it really can’t be too epic even when it’s trying to be, but either way, I feel like I didn’t enjoy this as much as I should’ve. I settled on the rating because i initially gave it a 7 which I thought was too high, and then gave it a 6.5 which I thought was too low. I still don’t really know if I like this album or not, but I feel this rating is a good way to demonstrate that I believe it is above average, but I can’t quite give it that “good” level rating because I don’t actually know if it’s good or not. Maybe at some point a revisit will help.


6.75/10

Leave a Reply

